Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 06:17:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690833
  • Total Topics: 118354
  • Online Today: 861
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online
Users: 6
Guests: 739
Total: 745

Recent

Author Topic: Do you feel your painting skill has plateaued?  (Read 5614 times)

Offline Diablo Jon

• Mastermind
Do you feel your painting skill has plateaued?
« on: March 10, 2021, 06:22:02 AM »
I was comparing some miniatures I recently painted with some I painted about a decade ago, the other day, and came to the realization that my miniature painting skills don't really seem to have improved in the last ten years.

I don't think I'm a bad painter, I can certainly knock out a decent table top paint job, but it seems I just can't seem to take my paint jobs to that next level.

I've experimented with new techniques, different undercoats, different paints followed more than a few online tutorials and yet my paint jobs hasn't visibly improved in recent years. It feels like I hit my skill ceiling in my mid 30s about a decade ago.

Do you guys feel like your miniature painting is still improving or have you plateaued (or even gone backwards)?

Here's my blog if your interested in what my painting looks like

https://jonsotherwargamesblog.wordpress.com/

Offline Blackwolf

• Potato Cup 3 winner
  • Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
Re: Do you feel your painting skill has plateaued?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2021, 06:52:02 AM »