Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 11:42:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690634
  • Total Topics: 118340
  • Online Today: 866
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Absolute Beginner (Africa Rules)  (Read 4432 times)

Offline efredbar

• Bookworm
Absolute Beginner (Africa Rules)
« on: July 28, 2011, 02:29:13 AM »
I've got some of these great Blue Moon 15mm Africa figures, a desire to game and a general idea of how I want to do it.

What I don't know is anything about the rules available.

I want to have small games. I'd like to use single based 15mm for the same games that people use 28mm for...if that makes any sense.  I don't want units that are any bigger than they would be in 28mm.

BUT, I would be willing to do multiple figure bases and paint bigger units if I was convinced that the rules that call for such basing and numbers were better.

I'd like to do some conventional forces...British, French, Force Publique, Germans and I'd like to be able to fight either small battles or big skirmishes.

I've been looking at In the Heart of Africa and the Army List but, really I don't know what would be best.

Also, I'll be solo gaming.

Any suggestions and descriptions of what you're doing and the rules you're using would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2011, 02:32:46 AM by efredbar »

Offline S J Donovan

• Scientist
Re: Absolute Beginner (Africa Rules)
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 03:21:34 AM »
No doubts in my mind for anything colonial or whenever there rules go, 20th anniversary edition of The Sword and the Flame www.sergeants3.com
can't be beat for skirmishes or biggish battles.

Offline FifteensAway

• Galactic Brain
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2011, 05:33:24 AM »