I have a couple of questions about this kind of weapon.
First: When shooting the Machine gun at a "Group" of figures, those in base to base contact, is there any difference in the procedure from shooting at multiple targets within 2 inches of one another. Basically meaning do you still split your SV when shooting at figures in base to base contact? The rules (3.3.3) say that each figure in the group is attacked and then goes on to describe how to resolve shooting into a fight.
Second: When splitting your SV to shoot multiple targets with a Machine Gun is the SV bonus of the weapon to be part of the total SV to split? i.e. with a SV of 3 and a bonus of 5 would a figure be able to engage 8 targets with a total SV of 1 (SV + Bonus of 5/8) for each shot or would he engage three targets with a total SV of 6 for each (SV/3 = Bonus of 5)? My assumption is the latter but wanted to make certain.
Thanks,
Mike