Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 02:35:50 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691078
  • Total Topics: 118370
  • Online Today: 843
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Preparing Christmas list...Airbrush question  (Read 3353 times)

Offline sundayhero

• Scatterbrained Genius
Preparing Christmas list...Airbrush question
« on: October 20, 2013, 01:52:30 PM »
Hi,

I'm currently thinking of my Christmas list  lol This year, I'm particularly concerned about upgrading some of my tools, or discover new ones.

I'd like to buy an airbrush. I'd like a all purpose tool : big monsters/vehicles and scenery painting, 28mm minis detailling. As a beginner, I'd like a cheap, easy to maintain, with available spare parts, but also a quality tool. I was thinking about the IWATA Neo gravity feed :

http://www.iwata-medea.com/products-type/neo-cn/

What do you think of it ? Any other (same price limit) idea ?

Concerning the compressor. It's where I want to save money, at least to start. For the purposes I'm planning, are the cheap tankless models we see on amazon or ebay good enough ?  Or should I go for a cheap tank airbrush compressor (I saw some with 3liter tank, for around 120euros). What are the specs I have to keep in mind, when buying the compressor ?

Concerning supplies : I readed that some people are using Artists high grade acrylic tubes, that they thin down with diferent products (alcohol, distilled water if I remember correctly). THis way, they obtain a high pigmented quality airbrush paint, reducing the costs a lot. I'm interested by the price, and availability (here in my aera, no modelling stores, but a few craft/arts supplies stores).

Concerning airbrush booth : are they really usefull ? What do I risk, health wise, to use an airbrush with water based paint without this item ?