*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Frostgrave - Rules  (Read 452563 times)

Offline Aging Mammal

  • Schoolboy
  • Posts: 9
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #315 on: 25 August 2015, 12:57:12 PM »
Quick question about Petrify.

Am I correct that it is just a poor copy of Blinding light? In that it is harder to cast, the victim can save with their willpower, yet they will still defend with their fight value and only lasts for 1 turn? I am struggling to see when I would want to cast this one even from a scroll.
If it left them vulnerable to an attack or it lasted till they saved perhaps then I might see a use but just now I would always choose blinding light.

I just feel that I am missing something here as all the other spells seem to have something going for them, even if not directly but when they are used in combination with others.

Offline Westfalia Chris

  • Cardboard Warlord
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 7513
  • Elaborate! Elucidate! Evaluate!
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #316 on: 25 August 2015, 07:41:02 PM »
Quick question about Petrify.

Am I correct that it is just a poor copy of Blinding light? In that it is harder to cast, the victim can save with their willpower, yet they will still defend with their fight value and only lasts for 1 turn? I am struggling to see when I would want to cast this one even from a scroll.
If it left them vulnerable to an attack or it lasted till they saved perhaps then I might see a use but just now I would always choose blinding light.

I just feel that I am missing something here as all the other spells seem to have something going for them, even if not directly but when they are used in combination with others.

Not quite as easy as that. One needs to factor in the variant difficulties resulting from the various schools' relation to each other. For example, ab initio, a Necromancer couldn't take Blinding Light in the first place, whereas he could take Petrify at a +2 penalty. For the elementalist, both are cast at the same base casting number unless levelled up.

Basically, there are some spell "duplicates" to allow the various schools to use variations of the same effect, with the various difficulties resulting from the interaction of the schools.

Offline Guerre

  • Schoolboy
  • Posts: 9
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #317 on: 26 August 2015, 08:40:37 AM »

Hey Joe I've been reading through your rulebook and this faq, I think ye've done a great job on the rulebook it is most understandable and clear in most parts and this faq is a great resource for rules clarifications but I think ye might have got this bit wrong.

"You can enchant the armour and the weapon on a soldier, as these are both temporary effects. If you embed either enchantment so it becomes permanent, then it counts as the soldiers 1 item."

Ye replied as though answering a question on Magic Items but the query is related to Magic Weapons and Armour detailed on page 62 of the rulebook where it says,
"A figure may only carry one of each type of magic weapon or armour at any time..."
So as the rules are presented in the book a knight would be able to carry a magic hand weapon, magic shield, magic mail armour and still have room for one "Magic Item". Unless this rule has been subject to errata that I have not noticed, I believe the ruling stated in the book makes up for the fact that soldiers receive no xp and besides if a soldier dies toting all that stuff is it not lost for good?

Whilst we are on the subject of magic weapons and armour, during a campaign may I equip a thief, thug or archer with magic mail armour and if so does it reduce the movement by 1?

Offline wulfgar22

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 980
    • My Blog
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #318 on: 26 August 2015, 09:48:23 AM »
Are there any plans for an official FAQ pdf?

Offline ChaosChild

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 206
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #319 on: 26 August 2015, 12:59:35 PM »
Unless this rule has been subject to errata that I have not noticed, I believe the ruling stated in the book makes up for the fact that soldiers receive no xp and besides if a soldier dies toting all that stuff is it not lost for good?
Page 22 of the rulebook. "Soldiers have only one item slot. This is in addition to the gear they normally carry as listed under their notes. Essentially each soldier can carry one potion, magic weapon or magic item unless otherwise stated."

Offline Aging Mammal

  • Schoolboy
  • Posts: 9
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #320 on: 26 August 2015, 02:03:33 PM »
Thanks for the reply about Petrify Chris.
I wasn't thinking beyond choosing spells when creating a character and forgetting that he might find it in a grimoire later in the game.
It has also occured to me that it's very difficulty could be an "advantage" in that if cast from a scroll it would be harder to save.

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1116
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #321 on: 26 August 2015, 02:35:00 PM »
Wulfgar - plans, yes. Time, not yet!

Guerre - thank you. I'm glad people are enjoying the game. Basically a magic weapon is a magic item and thus takes up an item slot. If a soldier has his normally weapon enchanted, this is only a temporary effect on his normal equipment and does not count as a magic item. It still counts as part of his standard equipment.

In the rules you cannot equip a soldier with any type of weapon or equipment that isn't part of his standard equipment. Thus, you can give an archer a magic bow, but you can't give him mail armour (magical or mundane). If you wanted to ignore that rule, then anyone wearing mail armour would have his Armour increased by 1 and Movement decressed by one.

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 137
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #322 on: 26 August 2015, 02:37:44 PM »
Quick question:

When I place the extra treasure from Reveal Secrets, do I have to ensure it's more than 6" away from other treasure markers? Or is the only restriction that it has to be within 6" of my deployment zone?

Offline Timbor

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1404
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #323 on: 26 August 2015, 04:23:40 PM »
With regards to the Sigilist spell "Push", can you use this on your own figures?  I was thinking it would be useful to help push a treasure-laden figure towards the edge of the board.  You are doing an "attack" roll against the figure (which would be technically attacking your own guy) but there is no damage unless he falls off a building.
Paint log - leadadventureforum.com/index.php?topic=36840.0

Blog - My life in Millimetres

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1116
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #324 on: 26 August 2015, 06:29:23 PM »
Reveal Secret - you should place it more than 6 inches away from another treasure.

Push - yes, you can use it on guys on your own side.

Offline sureshaker

  • Student
  • Posts: 15
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #325 on: 26 August 2015, 07:07:17 PM »
In the scenario with Wraiths, can demons harm wraiths?

Offline Darkson71

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 694
  • Rolling 1s so you don't have to since '95
    • Home of the ARBBL
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #326 on: 26 August 2015, 09:17:51 PM »
(Don't have my rulebook, as a club-mate has borrowed it and I forgot to pick it up).

Following on from the clarification you can use Push on your own warband, when does the 3" for activating soldiers come into play?  Is it at the start of the wizards phase or when you actually come to move the soldiers?

For example: I have a thug carrying treasure within 3" of the wizard - I elect to activate him in the wizards phase, but NOT as a group activation.  The wizard uses Push to move the Thug towards the table edge.  Can the thug now take his activations (as he was in 3" of the wizard) or not (as he is no longer within 3")?
Home of the ARBBL
"I survived the 525"

Offline Salanthas

  • Student
  • Posts: 11
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #327 on: 26 August 2015, 10:22:58 PM »
Hello!

1. The "Demon in a bottle" "summons and binds a minor demon to fight for the warband". Is the demon bound to the wizard? Or to the one who used the potion?

2. What happens if i shoot into a combat and the target, which is randomly determined, can not be seen by the shooting model?

3. Can i target (imagined) points in the air with Leap, Grenade etc.?

4. Do constructs have an item slot?

5. Will there be an official and up-to-date FAQ/Errata-PDF in the near future? =)

Thank you very much in advance!

« Last Edit: 27 August 2015, 01:39:31 PM by Salanthas »

Offline Darkson71

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 694
  • Rolling 1s so you don't have to since '95
    • Home of the ARBBL
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #328 on: 26 August 2015, 11:18:30 PM »
#4 No, but not having the book to hand I can't give the exact wording why.

#5 Joe answered this a few posts above you.

Offline Guerre

  • Schoolboy
  • Posts: 9
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #329 on: 27 August 2015, 12:44:09 AM »
thanks for those answers ChaosChild and Joe I had missed those parts but am now more up to speed I presume then that the one of each type then is only for the wizard. Although that does make it rather strange that shield would be in the example. I supose that means that  a model with magic armour has to carry around a mundane set as well. :P
(Don't have my rulebook, as a club-mate has borrowed it and I forgot to pick it up).

Following on from the clarification you can use Push on your own warband, when does the 3" for activating soldiers come into play?  Is it at the start of the wizards phase or when you actually come to move the soldiers?

For example: I have a thug carrying treasure within 3" of the wizard - I elect to activate him in the wizards phase, but NOT as a group activation.  The wizard uses Push to move the Thug towards the table edge.  Can the thug now take his activations (as he was in 3" of the wizard) or not (as he is no longer within 3")?

page 29 rulebook

"In the wizard phase, the primary player may activate his wizard and up to three soldier figures of his choice that started the phase within 3" of the wizard."
Your example sound fine. :)
The thing that I would like clarified is wheather ye need to roll defence when pushing a freindly figure seeing as your spellcaster is only trying to help them... possibly?

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
4016 Views
Last post 06 August 2015, 11:40:46 AM
by Green_Knight
4 Replies
4722 Views
Last post 22 September 2015, 04:31:24 AM
by Dakota Mike
4 Replies
4984 Views
Last post 13 October 2018, 11:00:05 AM
by FAB
20 Replies
7338 Views
Last post 28 March 2017, 03:44:23 PM
by schoon
11 Replies
3146 Views
Last post 01 November 2021, 05:50:32 PM
by Angrypantz