*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: The Leap Spell????  (Read 2622 times)

Offline Denizen Kane

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 196
  • French Army? What,s that?
The Leap Spell????
« on: 12 October 2015, 02:10:35 AM »
Can I get a definitive call on the Leap spell. We were playing it as once a model has leapt he is done. Yet When I just reread the spells Leap and Teleport they are saying you get your move/actions. The book says these two are the only spells that do that. So if what I am reading I understand it to mean if my wizard casts Leap on a soldier that is going to act in the soldier phase said soldier leaps and then when his soldier phase comes around gets to act? I was wondering if that is how it works!
The world is changing so fast and we,re just trying to catch up...

Offline Bloodaxe

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 283
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #1 on: 12 October 2015, 03:16:16 AM »
I have the spell cards right here.
Teleport says "....moves to any location within LOS but may take no other action this turn". It's usable on caster only.
Leap is similar,  10 inch move, " target may take no other action this turn."

Offline Sandycats

  • Student
  • Posts: 11
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #2 on: 12 October 2015, 04:40:55 AM »
I see the card says no further movement.  I am now confused because in the book, under movement, section movement by spell it says "Teleport or Leap allow a figure to move. Such movement is NOT considered to be a movement action and not subject to rules concerning multiple moves, obstructions, or forced combat."  This seems to contradict the card which is why I am confused. Please clarify further. ???

Offline Denizen Kane

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 196
  • French Army? What,s that?
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #3 on: 12 October 2015, 04:45:57 AM »
Hold up It is as the card says. The answer is in the errata!

Offline Sandycats

  • Student
  • Posts: 11
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #4 on: 12 October 2015, 04:55:41 AM »
Got it!  Thank you. lol

Offline Coenus Scaldingus

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 695
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #5 on: 12 October 2015, 10:20:01 AM »
I think this..
"Teleport or Leap allow a figure to move. Such movement is NOT considered to be a movement action and not subject to rules concerning multiple moves, obstructions, or forced combat."
..simply clarifies the mechanism of the leap movement; it doesn't alter the fact that a model may not take further actions (obviously, as the spell explicitely states that). What is does mean, is that a Leap movement isn't halved if the model has already moved that turn, and the magical nature of it means that it moves over difficult terrain and past enemy models without the usual issues.
~Ad finem temporum~

Offline Sandycats

  • Student
  • Posts: 11
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #6 on: 12 October 2015, 11:09:47 PM »
As a new player I am no longer confused.  Thank you everyone. :-*

Offline julius1880

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 142
Re: The Leap Spell????
« Reply #7 on: 13 October 2015, 01:23:22 AM »
Thanks for the heads up.
"What is the good of experience if you do not reflect?\"
Frederick the Great

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
7 Replies
2701 Views
Last post 20 March 2010, 09:39:26 PM
by Curadh
4 Replies
2550 Views
Last post 22 August 2015, 12:06:53 AM
by Hat Guy
1 Replies
1188 Views
Last post 12 February 2016, 01:02:44 PM
by Timeshadow
7 Replies
2680 Views
Last post 25 June 2016, 06:29:45 PM
by ChaosChild
7 Replies
600 Views
Last post 29 July 2025, 03:16:55 PM
by Burgundavia