*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 25, 2024, 08:56:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1703069
  • Total Topics: 119251
  • Online Today: 630
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Xenos Rampant Rules Question  (Read 653 times)

Offline markshur

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 1
Xenos Rampant Rules Question
« on: June 08, 2023, 10:07:07 PM »
For the Contagious Xeno rule, does the strength point restoration apply to damage taken in the current Attack/Defend action, or only to damage taken in previous combat.  The rule states (page 76):

"Every time this unit inflicts Strength Point loss on an enemy infantry unit during an Attack (whether Attacking or Defending), the Contagious unit regains on Strength Point that it has lost during the game."

If the wording was "had lost", then the meaning would be clear - it would only apply to previous damage.  However, "has lost" is ambiguous and since combat results are supposed to be applied simultaneously after the die rolls an argument can legitimately be made for both interpretations.

So, if a Contagious unit inflicts 1 casualty and takes one casualty in a single combat, does it get to recover that particular loss?

Online Gibby

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2364
Re: Xenos Rampant Rules Question
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2023, 10:40:30 AM »
I think the spirit/theme of the rule indicates they heal damage by causing it.

"During the game" would also cover that very combat, in my opinion.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
13 Replies
3637 Views
Last post July 27, 2021, 12:02:16 PM
by AdmiralAndy
2 Replies
1241 Views
Last post December 04, 2022, 05:27:36 AM
by LouieN
14 Replies
2287 Views
Last post January 07, 2023, 08:52:57 PM
by Dochejed
1 Replies
1180 Views
Last post January 28, 2023, 09:19:11 PM
by Metternich
8 Replies
1335 Views
Last post March 06, 2023, 01:51:10 PM
by Tolchok