I think the problem was not the officer losing his head.
In game terms he didn't "loose his head", but it could be rationalized as the officer lacking the pluck to urge his men forward or a general lackluster attempt by the men to close the ground. In the scheme of things although the Group made only a single move to cross the ground originally and then just stood there, I think it represents their move as a whole - meaning they moved slowly and came under fire a lot because of that. I hope that made sense.

If I recall correctly, the rules say a unit may not *advance* on the Tiffin card, so I assume the unit may retreat.
This rule is for a unit that looses it's bottle and are as follows: -
If an infantry Group has more Shock points than men remaining it may retire as normal but it may not advance. On the Tiffin card the Group will waver and fall back, whatever else it has done during the turn, retiring 1” for each point of Shock over and above the number of men for elite troops, 2” for good, 3” for Regular and 4” for poor. The Group may still fire, representing ragged firing as it falls back.
So generally only after loosing their bottle will a Group move on the Tiffin and then it is to only retreat to cover.
Regardless it is your game and should be played how you see fit.
