Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 12:46:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: My Medieval Village  (Read 11149 times)

Offline Arcticman

• Scientist
My Medieval Village
« on: January 20, 2008, 12:19:10 AM »
Some ideas, thoughts and products for a medieval village project.

So, finally the beginnings of a dream I have nursed since the late 1970's and my first encounter with D&D and Wargaming.
Years ago I saw some stunning pictures in Miniature Wargames of a Village as a background for the Barons' War complete with fields and peasants working.

So here goes, [photos will come when there is enough to show]:

What about buildings?

I am not good at modelling so to begin with I'll get some prefabricated ones.

I heard that Armorcast in USA were up and running again, so I ordered some small houses and a blacksmith shop.
They are cheap (average $15 or so) and very nice. The smallest ones are 3 by 3 inches, which is perhaps a bit small but I like them.
They are made of resin and come in parts. They need a bit of filing and sanding to fit.  Even with my basic skills they paint up well. Their service is great and customs were not too much of a hazzle.

Next I will try Pardulon, they look stunning. I did a small order with them,
their service is fantastic. I ordered a wednesday night, Jens sent it on thursday and I had it in my hand on friday! I will get me at least one of their houses next month.

I like houses with an interior that you can use for RPG.

At least my Armorcast houses will be based on plywood bases perhaps with fixed scenery.

What about figures?

I asked on the forum and got some great answers.  

So, I begin with some Hasselfree, lovely and clean figures.
[A friend of mine "Ritual" on Wyrd and CMON forums have painted some of theirs and they look super!] Hasslefree is one of the friendliest families in the business.