Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2024, 10:52:55 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Supersystem Marvel/DC/Champions Universe Mash-Up  (Read 1560 times)

Offline SgtHulka

• Librarian
Supersystem Marvel/DC/Champions Universe Mash-Up
« on: April 17, 2014, 04:50:25 PM »
In my youth I was a Champions fanatic. A few years ago, I started playing Supersystem with my kids. Part of the motivation was all the superhero movies and TV cartoons they enjoyed. And the thing I discovered was that they really wanted to play in a world populated by those specific superheroes. Meanwhile, I really liked the Supersystem background and villains and heroes, and, of course, I wanted to throw in my fond memories of Champions Enemies, as well. So I decided why not just mash all the universes up into one? My kids didn't care about separating them out and remaining "canonical", so why should I? You could probably even throw Pulp City in to the mix. I don't play that game, but the figs look really cool.

So here's a (very) brief outline of the universe I've been playing in with my kids. It's far, far, far from true source material, it's mostly just who populates which cities, separating the various comic book "worlds" geographically.

New York City -- this is the realm of the Marvel Universe. I do like what the alternative movie universe, however, so New York City is really just the realm of Spider-man and his villains, Daredevil and his villains, Punisher and his villains, and so forth. The Avengers are elsewhere, even though they obviously travel to New York to save it's ass. The most public superheroes of New York City are the Fantastic Four, though they spend more time dimension-hopping than protecting New York.

Washington D.C. -- This is the realm of Captain America, S.H.I.E.L.D., and the loose headquarters of the Avengers.