Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 10:40:54 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Napoleonic KGL Green vs Rifles Green?  (Read 1583 times)

Offline axabrax

• Mastermind
Napoleonic KGL Green vs Rifles Green?
« on: September 08, 2016, 05:04:46 PM »
Hi Gents. Rookie Napoleonic painter here, so please go easy on me  :)  I recently purchased the Warlord La Haye Sainte boxed set and am about painting the "British" including the KGL 2nd Light Battalion troops and the 95th rifles. For my eyes I cannot see a difference between the green color in the uniforms of these two units. Is this correct or is there a subtle difference?  Anyone have any color tips for paint selection?

Thanks for the info!

Offline Jeff965

• Scatterbrained Genius
Re: Napoleonic KGL Green vs Rifles Green?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2016, 06:32:00 PM »
Im no expert, but I think the green is the same as the British rifle green which is a very dark almost black green.
I use Foundry bright bottle green number 41 ab and c, as with a lot of these triads when you put the first two colours on it doesn't look to impressive but the third coat seems to lift the colour nicely and when a nice flat Matt varnish is applied I like the effect.
It's a lighter shade than the actual garment but because our figures are so small I like to do a lighter shade as it makes the figure stand out more on the tabletop.
Here's a photo of some FIW troops I've recently painted using this triad to give you an idea of the end result.

Offline LawnRanger

• Librarian
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 09:20:14 PM »
   Hi Jeff
        I should not  be to worried about the exact colour! dark green is dark dark  in my eyes :) , when you have 3 weeks + in the field that would turn that parade Gucci uniform into a riflemans jacket .. :)