Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 02:30:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Painting advice please -- and gluing  (Read 10764 times)

Offline Jennifer

• Scientist
Painting advice please -- and gluing
« on: February 26, 2016, 01:56:55 PM »
Does it make sense to practice painting metal miniatures first before attempting to paint the plastic Frostgrave soldiers box set?

I am new to painting minis, but figure I can learn quickly enough.  But I don't want to mess up the plastic miniatures.  I figured if I practiced on metal ones, and if I mess up, it'd be pretty easy to clean them and do another attempt?

If this is so, I'll just order a few metal Frostgrave wizard/apprentice sets along with the plastic soldiers and do them first.

What do ya think?
« Last Edit: March 12, 2016, 04:40:40 AM by Jennifer »

Offline Nooblord

• Librarian
Re: Painting advice please
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2016, 02:02:07 PM »
As I hinted at in your other thread I got a couple of really cheap individual historicals sprues from e-bay both for extra bits and to practise painting on some disposable bodies.

This was just as well as I hadn't fully appreciated how careful you need to be when applying plastic cement to models both not to cause an unholy mess and to make sure the glued parts don't slip and slide as the bond becomes firm.

Offline Jennifer

• Scientist
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 02:06:00 PM »
As I hinted at in your other thread I got a couple of really cheap individual historicals sprues from e-bay both for extra bits and to practise painting on some disposable bodies.

This was just as well as I hadn't fully appreciated how careful you need to be when applying plastic cement to models both not to cause an unholy mess and to make sure the glued parts don't slip and slide as the bond becomes firm.