Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 11:04:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: "Paper" Building Advice needed  (Read 3131 times)

Offline Blue in vt

• Mastermind
"Paper" Building Advice needed
« on: June 12, 2011, 02:13:32 PM »
Howdy all!

Being poverty stricken at the moment...and trying to drag my friends into table top wargamming I've been scrounging for cheap terrain pieces.  In my search I came across David Graffam Models and was very impressed with the quality of the images and the flexibility to change surfaces...ie you can print out the same model multiple ways and it looks different.  So I spent $12 and have enough models of buildings and ruins to set up a nice skirmish game.  But please keep in mind that I'm a paper model noob...the last ones I build were the card buildings GW produced in the late 80's...so I'm totally in the dark here.

So my questions are:

What is the best material to build these on? Graffam suggests 110# card stock...but they still seem a bit flimsy to me.  My terrain is going to have to travel with me so I'm hoping it can be fairly sturdy. 

Is foam core the way to ?  My concern there would be with the exposed edges...do you just paint them?  what about rooflines where you score the foam core to bend the roof...it would leave a large open gap right? do you fill that with something?

Is there a better choice than foam core?

If using a thicker card/board that you can't print on directly what is the best way to mount the images? white glue? spray adhesive?

Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Blue
My Painting/Collecting Blog: http://bluesmarauders.blogspot.com/

"Jesus weeps when people buy resin." ...Hammers March 2012

Offline Modhail

• Mastermind
    • http://modhails-meanderings.blogspot.com/
Re: "Paper" Building Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 06:29:24 PM »