Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 11:15:32 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: D&D, which edition? or something else?  (Read 12180 times)

Offline constrict

• Bookworm
D&D, which edition? or something else?
« on: April 18, 2012, 01:09:53 AM »
To get my old friends back into gaming again after 15+ years, (I started painting again last year...) I was thinking of slowly luring them in with a little of old school rpg. Fantasy was what we played the most back in the days, but only pen and paper, never with minis. If I could incorporate some miniature,  maybe someday can have a battle with a lot of minis, it would be great. I would like to have a system that urge you to use minis, but in the same time are not so rules heavy. What I have understand newer D&D really point this way miniature-wise but at the same time "oldies" like me are not that keen about the rules. So what's your suggestion?

Offline Faust23

• Mastermind
  • Father of Sorrows
    • Strategic Elite: Skirmish Wargames for the Discerning Strategist
Re: D&D, which edition? or something else?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 02:20:07 AM »
We're playing with the Basic & Expert sets from the original D&D.  Having a blast.
Author of the Origins Award 2013 Nominated Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages; Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy; and Scrappers: Post-Apocalyptic Skirmish Wargames published by Osprey Games

Offline Cherno

• Scatterbrained Genius
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 10:15:09 AM »
I'm currenty preparing a MicroLite 20 campaign in the Dark Sun setting. The rules are really easy and with a small amount of conversion every offical adventure can be made compatible.

Offline Grün

• Assistant
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2012, 10:51:28 AM »
Take a look at "Dungeonslayers"

http://www.dungeonslayers.com/

Offline oldskoolrebel

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Mastermind