*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Otherworld Fantasy Skirmish - Djinni Rules? and Immobilised question  (Read 1440 times)

Offline Monkey

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 66
Ok, so I've got a game lined up for tomorrow and I fancied using a Magic Lamp/Djinni seeing as I just got mine painted, but I'm finding the rules a little vague.

So, the Djinni lives in a magic lamp, and the owner of the lamp can make up to 3 wishes in the course of the game. These can be
Heal a model
Give the Lamp owner an Otherworldly ability for a turn
Summon the Djinni to attack an enemy model (As commanded rule)
Grant the Djinni it's freedom

So the first query related to As commanded rule, which reads- "When summoned the Djinni will attack one model chosen by the owner of the lamp. It won't attack any other model, unless that model is in already in base contact or is preventing the Djinni from reaching the chosen model. It will attack for just one activation and if it has killed, Immobilized or Stunned the chosen model, the Djinni will appear within 6" of the owner of the lamp and vanish, returning to its reserves area".

To my mind that reads as, the Djinni has to make it's way to the target model and may be intercepted on the way. But the attacks thing seems a little vague. Does it just mean it makes 1 attack only? Or does it mean it will make 1 attack per activation (you normally get 2 actions, per activation) against the target until it is killed, immobilized or stunned? (which is the way I'm leaning towards).
And then the last sentence, when the target has been taken out, the Djinni appears within 6" of the owner and then vanishes back to the reserves? This sort of implies it immediately teleports to a spot within 6" and then vanishes, but if that's the case, why doesn't it just go straight back to the reserves without the appears within 6" part? Does this sentence actually mean the Djinni must make it's own way back to a spot within 6" of the lamp owner before it then vanishes back into the lamp?

The next query relates to Bound to the Lamp which reads - "A summoned Djinni that loses its last hit returns to the reserve area. If summoned again it reappears fully healed."

So, if the Djinni is summoned and commanded to kill a model, but is itself killed before it accomplishes this, it returns to the lamp. The way I read this is even though the Djinni has failed, this still uses up one of the 3 wishes, as if you want to get it back to continue attacking the same model you have to summon it again, which presumably counts as using another wish (it doesn't automatically re-appear to continue to attack the model). Is this how everyone else reads it?

Th final query relates to the Freedom denied rule - "If the final wish is not to grant the Djinni its freedom, or if the owner of the lamp is removed from play by the opposing faction, the lamp will immediately betray it's current owner and become the possession of the nearest legend or companion in the opposing faction"

Now to me the way that is written, means you can never get your third wish unless that wish is to grant the Djinni it's freedom. Because immediately you make the wish, it changes sides. They way I think it should be played is that you either make 2 wishes + then release the Djinni for no repercussions, or you make 3 wishes and on completion of the third wish, the Djinni betrays you and changes sides. So you have to make the choice between 2 bonuses + no penalty and 3 bonuses and a penalty. Is that how other people read it? Also, how would you play it if the opposition has no Legends or Companions left? As in that situation there is no-one for the Djinni to defect to and therefore no penalty.

One other query. Companions and Legends can increase the to hit value of their attacks for 5gp. Can this be used to improve attack roles from Magic Weapons? I'm thinking no, because it applies to Basic, Advanced or Trained attacks, and Magic items are outside of these lists. (Eg. Elven Bow hits on a 4+, I presume I can't increase my basic Bow skill by 1, then apply this bonus to the Elven bow, as while Bow is in the list of basic attacks, Elven Bow isn't in this list?

Hope I've explained these in a way that makes sense, and look forward to hearing people's opinions. Thanks.
« Last Edit: 12 February 2016, 11:50:02 AM by Monkey »
http:www.ktnestboxes.co.uk

Offline psullie

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 239
    • Paul's Blog
Re: Otherworld Fantasy Skirmish - Djinni Rules?
« Reply #1 on: 10 February 2016, 11:41:14 AM »
Here' show I'd play this

As Commanded. The Djinn appears with 6" of the lamp holder. The following turn it receives Activations as normal and makes it's way to the target but will only fight the target for one turn/Activation. You'd have to fair as to how it would decide what constitutes in the way, having the Djinn take the long way just to beat up a bunch of hirelings is not how it was intended. Popping back to the holder of the lamp is useful if the Djinn was commanded to capture the victim as it could deposit him/her back at the lamp holders feet. Otherwise, the Djinn just goes directly back to the lamp (reserve area).

Bound to the Lamp. Yes, the Wish was spent to command the Djinn, another Wish must be spent to try again

Free the Djinn. It performs the last wish then switches sides.

Weapons. I'd allow it as it says 'any attack' so your bow could be improved, remember however if it gets stolen it would revert back to 4+ for it's new owner.

Offline Monkey

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 66
Re: Otherworld Fantasy Skirmish - Djinni Rules?
« Reply #2 on: 10 February 2016, 12:21:36 PM »
A single attack against the target seems a little bit underwhelming to me, bu then I guess it is only 16gp

Offline Monkey

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 66
Re: Otherworld Fantasy Skirmish - Djinni Rules? and Immobilised question
« Reply #3 on: 12 February 2016, 11:59:31 AM »
Ok, so a follow-up question regarding the immobilised rule/status. How are people playing this? The rule says an imobilised model can only roll to remove statuses and takes no other part in the encounter (or words to that effect - I don't have the book with me). That's fine if you're say a Goblin, but last night I immobilised my opponents Lich, which is quite a powerful model.

The rules as written appear to effectively rule him out of the encounter until he removes the status marker. He's there, but can't do anything (am I even allowed to attack him?). The spell I used was mystic web, which is one use only, but it's a template, so imagine if I had hit the Lich and his 2 main henchmen. Or you could web a dragon. It could easily end the game.

I was thinking of house ruling it to be model is unable to make move actions, but can still shoot, cast spells and fight as normal (maybe a penalty to fight?). Just wondered if other people had come across this and how they had dealt with it.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
184 Replies
48159 Views
Last post 13 January 2016, 03:53:43 PM
by connexion
21 Replies
7795 Views
Last post 15 August 2015, 10:21:41 PM
by wulfgar22
25 Replies
7882 Views
Last post 18 September 2015, 05:38:04 PM
by SgtHulka
1 Replies
1816 Views
Last post 13 January 2016, 01:01:44 PM
by psullie
10 Replies
2547 Views
Last post 23 February 2016, 08:49:27 PM
by psullie