We started our adventures in the archipelago right at the release of 2ed Frostgrave. We are having great fun so far and are already reading the new rules for our return to Felstad.
The following question came up in our last game.
The spell Snare reads as follows:
Each time the target is activated, it must make a Fight Roll with a Target Number of 15 (creatures with the ‘Large’ trait receive +4 to this roll). If the target fails, it may take only one action during its next activation, which cannot be movement. Once a target has made its Fight Roll, it has escaped the vines and is no longer ensnared.
We are not native speakers and started discussing if "once a target has MADE its fight roll" means that the target has to be successful to escape or wether it is enough to try it once? The second interpretation would drastically reduce the power of this otherwise very powerful spell. And it would make the first sentence of the spell description obsolete.